Online now
Online now

Advice for first munch?

Curious Raven​(other female)
4 years ago • Jan 11, 2020

Advice for first munch?

I’m a novice and planning to attend my first munch next week. I think most people feel shy about walking alone into a social event with complete strangers and of course, the kink factor ups the ante. The standard vanilla questions (what do you do? where do you work/live? where did you go to school?, etc.) are probably off limits (or not?). I do plan to e-mail the host to let her know there’ll be a newbie “in the house”.
So...what’s your best advice for mingling at a munch? What do you recall from your first munch? Care to share any funny stories? Things you wish you had done differently? Did you use your real name or a “nom de kink”?
DrWakko
DrWakko • Jan 11, 2020
The best advice is this: just be yourself.

Remember everyone in that room was in your shoes at some point in their life.

Introduce yourself how ever you want. No one will know if sally is your real name or not. If the group does introductions copy what is said. Some people are able to say “I’m Steve and on site x my name is ????”. When I go to an event I say “I’m Dr. Wakko some call me Wakko some Doc and others The Doctor”. This way they have an option on what to call me.

It was a good idea to email the hosts. Just so you have an idea what to expect.

Have fun and enjoy your first munch.

DW
Erick​(sub male)
Erick​(sub male) • Jan 11, 2020
I went to a munch long ago, before they were called that. It was an early meeting of the Eulenspiegel Society. (Revealing my age here. I'm old enough to be a Clint Eastwood character. Well... maybe in another 30 years. But I FEEL like him already.) So I'm sure things are HUGELY different now, and probably this will be useless to you. At best an addition to the "funny story" category.