• Marked distrust of others and their intentions
Apologizing a lot due to insecurities
Feeling afraid of making another commitment
Feeling distrusting in new relationships
Feeling worthless or unconfident
Feeling relief, then intense guilt
Falling into another unhealthy relationship
Having a hard time letting go

* For myself I have to be honest here and state that I had almost all of these symptoms 7 years ago when my long running toxic relationship ended.
Long story short. Only decided to date twice over the past 7 years. Both very short lived. Just not the one for me. I was also in denial when it came to the effects my past toxic relationship had on me.
This takes me to today. I worked through a lot over the years and was single for 6 of the 7. I have now reconnected with an old friend and fell in love. Something I've never done before. I've had to literally fight every step of the way to allow myself to be loved by this man but I'm still combating some things like...
Apologizing a lot due to insecurities
Afraid of making a commitment (marriage)
Feeling distrusting
Feeling worthless or unconfident
Fear of intimate touching in an non-intimate setting - which leads to...
Hypervigilance - Restlessness - Increased anxiety
Also still have Intrusive images/flashbacks/nightmares of my past when certain things trigger it.

I'm not going to ask if ones have been through this before cause many have. My question is have you been able to get past it and have a healthy relationship?
Devotedsub​(sub female){His}
3 years ago • Dec 15, 2020