Online now
Online now

How to recognise a Dom and show I’m a sub

LadyLayIa​(sub female)
2 years ago • Apr 23, 2021

How to recognise a Dom and show I’m a sub

LadyLayIa​(sub female) • Apr 23, 2021
Hi all

I’m very new to the lifestyle. Not new to being the way I am, but new to being able to identify it.

I’m still very unsure about how to recognise whether someone is into BDSM and would love to be able to recognise these traits, particularly in a male Dom.

I know ... there is no way to know anything for sure. Communication is key. But what are some common traits you have found that Doms exhibit in everyday life? Something that will at least hint to me that I could possibly have that conversation?

I’m friends with someone and not at the stage of a conversation, but still at the stage of looking for hints, clues, etc

As someone who I’m not dating, there are some small hints that I don’t want to look too deeply into ... often standing behind my chair (no one else’s) holding the back rest; long looks that are often while standing close, looking down or sideways; in social situations ALWAYS lets me serve food/drinks and clean up without assistance, but always ready to help with heavy lifting etc

Any input would be appreciated.

Conversely, what are some non explicit things I could do in public to show I’m a sub and into the lifestyle?
acquiesced​(sub male)
acquiesced​(sub male) • Apr 23, 2021
LadyLayla,

Welcome to the lifestyle. You're not alone in this dilemma. Based on my experience of decades, the odds of you meeting someone in the vanilla world that is dominant in the way that brought you here is very, very small. Now the odds of you finding what you're looking for here is also very small, but it's a process of elimination, vs a process of discovery (and hope and wish) in the vanilla world.

Good luck!
Low{BLK OWND}
Low{BLK OWND} • Apr 23, 2021
Hi
It was a lot to do with his presence
His posture and demeanor
He was very confident and self assured