Online now
Online now

Avoiding stalking, cyberstalking

snysdup
2 years ago • Mar 2, 2022

Avoiding stalking, cyberstalking

snysdup • Mar 2, 2022
Stalking-like behavior- how far is too far?
What information do you give as you get to know someone that "clicks" with what you are looking for? How soon?

I recently received a DM from someone that clearly showed they researched me via a profiling search- enough to find out the exact apartment number where I lived!!!!! My financial background!!!!

I shared my facebook name/address knowing there is nothing there that tells that information. It doesn't give my address, there are no photos of where I live. Yes- my photo and how I feel about things, my former careers. I rarely share my full name, let alone my facebook info.

And now I will not do that again. I felt that the quality of the person I was exchanging information with warranted letting him know me better. There was a chance of something good happening.

I am a stalking expert. I understand cybersecurity. Don't need a lecture about that. No haters please
DrWakko
DrWakko • Mar 2, 2022
If your facebook name is your real name then you can do an internet search and it will tell someone everything they need to know about you.
kuriouskit
kuriouskit • Mar 2, 2022
Im so sorry that happened to you.

Honestly you can never be too careful and in my opinion if they are genuine then they will understand why you are being cautious. Maybe using an app or email dedicated to chatting but not linked to anything personal?

The timeline is a bit subjective but if you feel rushed in anyway that would be a red flag in my book.

Be safe!
heartlesslover​(sub female)
Sorry that happened to you. Any time you give your full real name you risk all that information being found. There are many free sites that give out personal information. Some of them give you an option to opt out, I have done so on a few for safety concerns related to my job.
IronWorld​(sadist male)