Online now
Online now

Old vs new guard

new Luna​(sub female)
1 year ago • Jun 22, 2022

Old vs new guard

new Luna​(sub female) • Jun 22, 2022
As I have been speaking to several Doms this has come up and to be honest I am still a little confused

Question is ;

what is the difference between Old Guard and New Guard Dom's?

Some like to remind me they are of the old guard which means nothing to a newbie, but I would like to know more about it please
Literate Lycan​(dom male)
Literate Lycan​(dom male) • Jun 22, 2022
I would recommend you do a quick search on Old Guard and BDSM. You’ll see a treasure trove of information on the topic, including conjecture on origin and development of protocols and characteristics, most of which revolved around mentorship to learn from the “Old Guard” to the new members. I have zero direct knowledge of the subject. I have my own thoughts.
Heero​(dom male)
Heero​(dom male) • Jun 22, 2022
Based on your other forum post, I am (only slightly) concerned about these Doms you're talking to...though it may just be a generational thing.

To give a very non-comprehensive, grossly over simplified answer:

Old Guard = very strict/traditional/militaristic/more demanding/"high protocol" style of BDSM.

New Guard = more casual/modern/less demanding/"low protocol" style of BDSM.

The history of these types of protocols go back decades. You say it means "nothing" to a newbie and while it can be important/desired to know your history, I would tend to agree with you--in the following sense.

Practically speaking, for either protocol, what is expected of you should be made clear and you should consent to it. Knowing or not knowing the tradition behind the rules you're given isn't practically relevant in this sense. You just consent if you're into it and don't if you're not.

But generally if someone tells you they're high protocol, they're either trying to communicate they're "very strict" or posturing like they are.