Online now
Online now

Defining slave/Submissive/Bottom

CrimsonRose
4 years ago • Jul 1, 2019

Defining slave/Submissive/Bottom

CrimsonRose • Jul 1, 2019
To one and all, Dom's, sub's, Tops, Bottoms etc... need help understanding the precise nature of being a Bottom vs Submissive vs slave. I have been told that being a submissive is being a slave by some and then others disagree. What is the right answer?

Recently, I was told that there is yet another group called bottoms. As a novice I am searching for information as well as a place to belong. I don't want to be the match stick girl looking in and watching everyone else. I want to play were I am comfortable but how one identifies seems to be very important. Is it a matter of training, protocols, or just nature?

Thank you so much for your responses in advance. Blessings from Texas
Soulweaver​(dom male)
Soulweaver​(dom male) • Jul 1, 2019
Great question! I suspect you are going to receive a wide range of answers and it may not help you to the definitive answer you seek. Furthermore, the terms are often used interchangeably and they are fairly subjective, which will only serve to further obfuscate the matter. Here is is how I define them.

submissive = someone who prefers to give control to another, can be bedroom only or something more complex.

slave = someone who prefers to be in a 24/7 TPE relationship and allows someone to control them much more completely. To my belief, a slave can have limits, but within that framework usually submits completely to their Master. Some believe that slaves should have no limits, but I believe that to be a dangerous and unnatural definition. However, remember subjective!

bottom = someone who chooses to submit to another within a scene or with particular partners. Some bottoms may identify with another title and may only submit for a particular situation. For example a Dom/me who may enjoy being Topped by someone else in a scene or with another stronger willed individual.