Online now
Online now

Writing about bdsm when you are inexperienced

Storms n Abi{Whatever }
3 years ago • Oct 1, 2020

Writing about bdsm when you are inexperienced

Storms n Abi{Whatever } • Oct 1, 2020
Hello all.
I've decided to work on a erotic romance novel with aspects of BDSM and the psychological part.
I had a few doubts and questions about the same. I'm not experienced in the lifestyle so I'm not what's the best way to start writing the scenes.
shahh
shahh • Oct 1, 2020
Get experience in the lifestyle.
TheChimera​(sub female)
TheChimera​(sub female) • Oct 1, 2020
To begin, you can always look into local BDSM clubs in your area. Go to munches (These are public gatherings where people of the community may go to a restaurant or an event to mingle.) or attend a dungeon's play-party. Meet people, discuss. Even potentially gain some of your own experiences.

However; due to the pandemic, I understand gaining real-life experience can be tricky.

I will say as a member of the lifestyle, PLEASE do your research before you write on a topic for your erotic novel. We don't need another 50 shades of grey hitting the media and spewing misinformation.

I would say start from the basics.

What is BDSM? What does the acronym BDSM stand for?
What is SSC, RACK, etc?

The Cage offers a lot of nice material you can learn from right off the front page. To help, I linked a page that provides quite a few links.

https://thecage.co/magazine,1.html

Honestly, if you can't get the experience yourself, you can always conduct interviews like a reporter might. Take in someone else's experience. Learn from them.
A lot of people here post about their experiences and lessons in their blogs (I'm one of those people) -- with that being said. Please make sure you are only using that info for learning purposes only. I'm not saying you would; but some folks might get uncomfortable if you write directly from their experiences and basically copy their blogposts.