Online now
Online now

Lifestyle BDSM

Sololoquy
6 months ago • Oct 11, 2023

Lifestyle BDSM

Sololoquy • Oct 11, 2023
I'm new to this and starting to understand how different it is from vanilla sex. The intensity is nothing like I've experienced before, and it's also somewhat about the sex, but far from completely. There's so much more going on.

I've realised that the trial I'm going through for Kinktober isn't bedroom only, but actually lifestyle, because there are choices and rewards and punishments going on between the time I set aside for a scene.

Having ridden out the worst of sub drop a couple of days ago, I'm aware still of an ongoing impact physiologically that I'm handling OK just now (anticipation, excitement, frustration). The main impact that bothers me is my appetite being lowered. I'm still eating and drinking fine, but I'm not enjoying it.

This makes me wonder: How do you regulate this kind of intensity 24/7? Do you incorporate longer periods where you're able to decompress? How long do you go between scenes (if they still count as such)?

Perhaps I've set myself too tough a challenge here, and I'm monitoring that in myself so I can stop if needed. Maybe taking a break to split Kinktober in half is a compromise - then I can take stock, fully unwind and recalibrate before doing this again.
TopekaDom​(dom male)
TopekaDom​(dom male) • Oct 11, 2023
To be honest, there are very few people who do it 24/7.

Even when I was full throttle, years ago, there were times when I would lapse into vanillahood. Doing 24/7 is very hard and takes a great deal of mental and emotional work. Particularly of the Dom/me.

These days, when the lifestyle is more configued to the physical, you don't see 24/7 talked about. Once that bedroom threshold is crossed, they go back to a rather vanilla setting.
Sololoquy
Sololoquy • Oct 11, 2023
TopekaDom wrote:
To be honest, there are very few people who do it 24/7.