Online now
Online now

The Partners That Come Before “Him”

submissiveMe​(sub female){Not yet :)}
5 years ago • Oct 7, 2018

The Partners That Come Before “Him”

Thank you for taking the time to read this post. I’m fairly new to the lifestyle. Really only been exploring in my local community actively just under a year, though I’ve been searching for the Dominant I fit with several years.

I’ve come to realize that waiting alone isn’t working. I don’t learn or explore enough and have decided to extend myself to partners who will not end up being the one.

But coming from a vanilla background it’s challenging redefining roles. I have a current play partner who is pretty new. Just a month. I’m really enjoying him. He’s not Looking for a committed thing—for a dedicated sub or partner. I’m good with that. I’m also very open, honest and real all the time, and a warm and affectionate sort. If I’m fucking you I want to know you and will care about you on a deep level. I can’t not.

I’ve got no desire to label or corral someone not into commitment. I don’t want or need to limit the life of my play partner, but I also can’t turn who I am on and off either. Is it expected, generally, that ongoing play partners in the lifestyle have really set boundaries that are not crosssd between play and life outside of play? To me it feels right that play include friendship and intimacy which comes from building connection. But what I’ve got going on now is extreme intimacy (not just sex but in closeness and words) for a night a week, then at daybreak this straightarm thing that happens. A reserve comes up distancing me til the next week.

I requested a conversation about it so we could understand each other and talk about some specifics so we really get each other and can just enjoy without the awkwardness but that didn’t work out. I guess I’m just really inexperienced in how this works. It’s another world.